Physician Advisory Committee

Committee Members

Nancy S. Henley, MPH, MD, FACP
Independent Health Care Consultant

Dr. Henley is the Chief Medical Officer for North Carolina Medicaid. She has more than 25 years of executive management experience with integrated delivery systems and large public and private insurers. She is expert at convening and coaching change teams charged to address organizational imperatives and produce measurable results. Her prior work as an independent health care consultant included policy assessment and development, strategic planning, data interpretation, and leadership support for state Medicaid and for specialist participation in accountable care organizations. She has served as Medical Director for the North Carolina State Health Plan and as Deputy Director for Clinical Affairs with the North Carolina Medicaid Program. Prior to that appointment, she was in a private consulting firm and worked with Medical Review of North Carolina (QIO) on Medicare clinical quality programs. Earlier, in the Carolina Permanente Medical Group, she served as the Associate Medical Director for Quality and Research and was on the national board of the Kaiser Permanente Care Management Institute. Dr Henley has been a member of the North Carolina Medical Society since 1985. She has served on many committees, most recently the NCMS Quality and Performance Committee and the NCMS Accountable Care Taskforce, and is a graduate of the Leadership College. Dr. Henley received her MPH and MD from the University of North Carolina and is Board Certified in Internal Medicine. She is a clinical associate professor in the UNC School of Medicine and adjunct associate professor in the School of Public Health.

Perrin W. Jones, MD
Holdeman, MichaelPartner, East Carolina Anesthesia Associates
Consultant, Community Care Networks of North Carolina

Dr. Jones is a partner at East Carolina Anesthesia Associates. In addition, he provides consulting services to Community Care Networks of North Carolina. Dr. Jones received a Bachelor of Arts with honors in English from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and a medical degree from Wake Forest University School of Medicine. He completed his residency at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. Dr. Jones is a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists and secretary-treasurer of the North Carolina Society of Anesthesiologists.

John J. Meier, IV, MD, MBA, FAAP
Physician, Wake Internal Medicine Consultants

John Meier MD, MBA, FAAP, is a practicing internist and pediatrician in the Raleigh area. He serves as a member of the Board of Directors and Treasurer of WakeMed Key Community Care (WKCC), a Medicare Shared Savings Program participant and Accountable Care Organization. In his role at WKCC John also serves on the Management, Quality and Operations Committees. Dr. Meier is very active in several working groups and committees at the North Carolina Medical Society – Towards Accountable Care Task Force, Towards Accountable Care Advisory Board, the Kanof Leadership Institute Advisory Board, the Legislative Cabinet and Finance Committee.

Dr. Meier followed his interest and passion in medicine by attending medical school at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, graduating in 2004. He completed his combined Internal Medicine and Pediatric residency at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and had the opportunity to serve as the Medicine Chief Resident at WakeMed Hospital.

Devdutta Sangvai, MD, MBA
Associate Chief Medical Officer for the Duke University Health System
Medical Director for DukeWELL.

Dr. Sangvai is board certified in Family Medicine and is an assistant professor in the Department of Community and Family Medicine at Duke University Medical Center, working at Duke since 2003. Dr. Sangvai received his undergraduate degree in biochemistry from Ohio State University and went on to earn his MD at the Medical College of Ohio at the University of Toledo. He received an MBA with a concentration in Health Sector Management from the Duke University, Fuqua School of Business in 2003. Dr. Sangvai currently serves as President of the North Carolina Medical Society and is involved with the American Medical Association, the Durham Orange County Medical Society, where he served as President in 2008, and the North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians.

Grace Terrell, MD, FACP
CEO, Cornerstone Health Care, PA

Dr. Terrell is a general internist and chief executive officer of Cornerstone Health Care, PA, a multi-specialty medical group in the Piedmont Triad region of North Carolina with more than 300 providers and 1500 employees who practice at nine separate hospitals. She has served on many community boards and organizations including the Piedmont Triad Partnership Health Care Roundtable, Guilford County Economic Workforce Development Board, Community Clinic of High Point, American College of Physician Executives, and Board of Trustees of High Point Regional Health System. Dr. Terrell is currently on the boards of the North Carolina Shakespeare Festival, High Point United Way, High Point Chamber of Commerce, NCMS Accountable Care Task Force, and Cornerstone Foundation. Her practice was the first in North Carolina to achieve NCQA level 3 Physician Practice Connection recognition. She has been a member of the NCMS since 1985 and participated in the NCMS Community Practitioner Program in 1999. Dr. Terrell received a Bachelor of Arts in English and religion from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a medical degree from Duke University. She completed her residency at North Carolina Baptist Hospital and her Master’s in medical management from Carnegie Mellon University.